The scientist in me is awakening.

Today, I mixed and tasted my smoothie as I went to see what I could keep and what I could eliminate to test variations of smoothies.  I changed this mornings ingredients slightly.  I used unsweetened almond milk,  1/2 the yogurt and twice as much banana.  This saved me approximately 20 calories and 10 grams carbs (for me = less sugar).  This did effect the taste, but not enough to put me off.  I enjoyed every bit.  By taste testing as I added and blended ingredients, I was able to see what each ingredient contributed to the taste.

The nutritional breakdown for this morning smoothie:

Calories 499.5

Fat 10.5 grams

Carbs 75.25 grams

Protein 26 grams

Fiber 20.75 grams

2 thoughts on “The scientist in me is awakening.

  1. Cortney says:

    It’s nice to see you experimenting with different ingredients. Do you think that may be too many calories for a smoothie? See if you can knock off a few more calories from somewhere.

    Keep up the good work.

    • I thought about that. I think I can eliminate more calories, but this is definitely not a snack type of smoothie. I am replacing my breakfast with this smoothie. Thanks for the word of encouragement and the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

