Discovery

Today was both busy and meaningful.  Busy because I felt like I was literally cooking all day to prepare for this weeks meals and meaningful because I was reminded of how important food is to us as living beings.  We rely on it to sustain us.  My sister and I spoke about a week ago and I made a comment looking back now that was pretty disrespectful towards the very thing that sustains me.  I said something along the lines that “food should be viewed like toilet paper; you need it, but why should the brand, or color or softness matter? Use it and move on.”  That day I was frustrated with myself for making bad food choices.  My sister disagreed with me and reminded me of how sacred food really is and that the view on food should be just the opposite. After all the food preparations I made today, I see she is absolutely right.  I made homemade hummus, lentil soup, breakfast muffins for the kids for the 1st half of the week and prepped dinner for Tuesday.  I felt proud that I committed myself to eat better and to cook better meals for my family. I feel really good about my choices today and look forward to many more this week.  

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Discovery

  1. Mama Bird says:

    I’m so glad you feel this way. It wasn’t me you talked to, so it must have been our other Beautiful Sister, Carisa….
    Love you,
    Belinda

Leave a Reply

