What a surprise!!

Last night my family and I went to the gym to get in a little workout.  It was nice because I had been away for so long.  When I got home I decided to weigh myself just to do it.  -6 lbs since last week.  And I was not juicing last week like I am this week.  That was encouraging.   So it was real easy to stay on track this morning, even while cooking up some delicious smelling oatmeal pancakes for the kids.  Again, no carrots (farmer’s market is not until later today) so I whipped up the following smoothie:

1 cup organic OJ

1/2 banana

1/2 ruby red grapefruit

5 frozen strawberries

1 cup frozen spinach

1 + 1/2 cups European Blend salad

1 cup water

1 tbsp nutritional yeast

The yield was almost 3 cups smoothie and was very delicious and held me up to my snack which was an avocado with a pinch of coarse kosher salt and paprika.  mmmmm!!

What’s so great about where I’m at now is getting past the whole “feeling grumpy” stage and that’s probably because I got rid of alot of process foods.  I am still drinking my coffee in the morning and decaf teas during the day.  I don’t want to part with the ol’ cup of joe and my skin doesn’t seem to be suffering from it and the 2 teas I am drinking lately are chamomile and a really good french verbena someone at work brought in for the office.

The biggest change in terms of what I have cut out or reduced consumption of is less meat, wheat and dairy and that has made all the difference when it comes to my skin. Even more than wearing gloves when washing dishes!

So my plan this weekend is to prepare my juicing ingredients, smoothie ingredients and recipes as well as make some soups this weekend in preparation for the following week.  My mini goal for the remainder of this week is to workout 2 more times.  I’ll keep you posted!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment