I love beets!

Beets are my new buddy! I absolutely love this veggie.  But I always feel so wasteful when I cut the greens off and throw them out.  So I looked online to see if I could cook them up and I was so happy to find out I could cook them like chard! I’ve already cut and stored them for dinner. But in the meantime, I made my favorite juice blend this morning:  3 carrots, 1 medium beet and 1″ fresh ginger.

This combo always makes my day.  I always feel really good after drinking it.

I did not cook the beet greens for dinner after all, but instead made a delicious chicken soup made up of leeks, potatoes, carrots, celery, thyme, rosemary, parsley, cumin (just a bit), bay leaves, barley, rice and of course, chicken.  The chicken was left over from 2 nights before.  It was great and a relatively quick soup to make.  I did add to my bowl only some cayenne pepper and turmeric to give it a nice curry flavor.  It was so good, I should have taken a pic before ringing the dinner bell.  There is none left!  That’s what I call a successful dinner.

As for my mini goal, I went to the park today and played with the girls.  This might be cheating, but I’m going to count that as 1 workout!  🙂  I still have tomorrow to do a legit workout fit to brag about.

Until next time!

**My Chicken Soup:

1 leek, 4 small potatoes, 2 carrots, 5 celery stalks, a couple of pinches of thyme, rosemary, several shakes of parsley, 2 shakes of cumin, 2 bay leaves, 2 tbsp sea salt and water filled to the about an inch from the rim of my cooking pot.  Bring to a boil and then simmer for 45 minutes.  Add pre-cooked chicken and less than 1/4cup barley and let simmer until chicken starts to come of bone (about 20-30 minutes).  Rice on the side can be added if desired.

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “I love beets!

  1. BJ says:

    I think I’ll make this one today for my quick boost! 😀

    • It’s so good and very sweet!

      • BJ says:

        Thanks for sharing this one. Guess who likes this drink? I made this for me and gave baby a sip thinking the ginger might put him off…but noooooooooooo…. he drank ALL of mine. I will make double next time.

        This morning,

        in the juicer:
        8 carrots (medium smallish, organic – i get the 5lb bag from Sprouts) skin scraped
        1whole red beet, skin scraped
        1inch ginger, skin scraped

        in the blender:
        1whole bunch of spinach
        some of the carrot/ginger/beet juice above
        handful each of frozen blueberries & frozen bananas slices
        handful of pecans

        SO YUM!!

  2. That sounds delicious! I’m going to try that and I’ll tell you what I think. Thanks for sharing and I am so glad baby loved it!

Leave a Reply

